Why I Love Summer Vacation…part 2

Will this be the last part? I have no idea…but here we go:

5. Jeff is home.

Full time. He still occasionally picks up work for his dad or his brother or restaurant work, but it’s not a consistent thing so he’s available for beach trips and pool days and the like. We always work better as a team rather than two individuals running around with separate agendas which sometimes happens during the school year when he’s balancing lesson plans, his regular work day and life in general. Fun days out are more fun when we’re all together and I have a back-up so I can, you know, pee if I need to.

6. The Liberating lack of routine.

Routine is good and I normally love it. But, I really love to shake it off occasionally. The routine of the school year means I have to be available to get kids off the bus and if something took too long (or at least longer than expected during the day) I sometimes don’t get to something I wanted to (ie–a special cleaning project or reading time). The lack of routine is liberating because I do not have as many things depending I be there at.that.exact.moment.in.time. and so more things actually get done. I know, I know, it confuses me too. Don’t think too much about it.

7. The garden.

I married a man with two green thumbs which is really luxurient when there aren’t enough of them to go around, but I really enjoy seeing him work his magic in our postage stamp size back yard (we’ve laid new sod!) and our small front plot. When we moved here we loved having a smaller yard because our huge gorgeous lot was just simply too much to keep up, especially with Jeff doing the bulk of the work, so this size is perfect and manageable. And lovely this time of year.

8. Classical Music and Reading Time

New to this summer! I started using Snapchat recently and I follow Retta on there. She is hilarious and she snapped last weekend about a tradition she used to have of having Sundays where she wouldn’t watch tv or surf the web but listen to classical music and read. Color me inspired. So, now, in the afternoons, we turn on classical music (either online streaming or on the classical Music Choice tv station) and read for about an hour. It’s relaxing and it’s growing our brains. #Winwin

That’s all for now folks!

