Finally…a word for 2016

A word has come easy the last few years. Too easy. When I had the rug pulled out from under me by my own association with unkind people, the word was kindness. When I had my Bible quote was from John’s Gospel, my word was shepherd. But this year…my saint (St Juan Diego) and my verse (Ezekiel 36: 25-28) didn’t automatically register a word either.

And so there we were…days of prayer and meditation. And just sitting and thinking. Nothing. New Years Eve I was at my parents’ home doing nothing and it hit me. My word for 2016 is…

chosen.

It’s hard to describe how or why but as I prayed at mass on the Solemnity of Mary, a peace with this word came over me. It ends up that it does fit nicely with my saint as Juan Diego was chosen intentionally by the Blessed Virgin to deliver the message to the Bishop. Ezekiel, as a prophet was chosen to deliver God’s Word to the people of Israel, the Word was harsh but also gave hope.

I’m not sure what exactly God has “chosen” me for besides being my husband’s wife and children’s mother. I have been trying to make some job changes so perhaps this word will help me focus on where I should be and what exactly I should be doing. Anyway, I feel like this word was given to me for a very specific reason and I look forward to finding out more throughout the year!

