Bible Verse for 2016

Last year I went big and went for John’s Gospel when I chose John 21: 15-19. The command to love Jesus by feeding His sheep struck true in many ways. It led me to more discussions with my children about God and their faith. It also led me to become a catechist. It was exciting to have a specific verse to guide me spiritually through my year so I decided to do it again.

This year I decided to go Old Testament with a verse that I was not familiar with that cried out to me in my prayers for the Syrian refugees and victims of the terror attacks in Paris, Lebanon and San Bernardino. It is a verse that in this jubilee year of mercy screams of mercy to me.

I will sprinkle clean water over you to make you clean; from all your impurities and from all your idols I will cleanse you. I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put my spirit within you so that you walk in my statutes, observe my ordinances, and keep them.You will live in the land I gave to your ancestors; you will be my people, and I will be your God.

–Ezekiel 36:25-28

Since those verses first cried out from Sacred Scripture at me, I was changed. I am still a work in progress, but God broke my stony heart wide open and slowly, grace is working it’s way in. And with grace, I have found mercy coming in as well. I cannot wait to see what change in my life this verse will bring for 2016.

One thought on “Bible Verse for 2016

Comments are closed.