What are We Reading This Advent

Music is but one way that we can help make our Advent a time of preparation. Choosing reading material is another.

Now, I’m one who feels like just making time for any reading that is not email, blogs, or online articles is a bit of a retreat and also creates a more contemplative atmosphere in general. So, I think simply making time for reading is an essential part to either Lent or Advent.

To add something spiritually enriching is just bumping it up for me.

I am re-reading Pope Benedict XVI’s Jesus of Nazareth: The Infancy Narratives. It is seasonal and brilliant. I could not recommend it highly enough.

I am also going to re-start reading for fun Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence. Classic. Scandalous for it’s time. Hopefully with some more time built in with my fasting, I will be able to really enjoy it.

And of course, I’m still trudging through the Old Testament.

Some other suggestions for reading I have been given are:

In this House of Brede Rumer Godden

Kristin Lavransdatter Sigrid Undset

Brideshead Revisited Evelyn Waugh (True story, I worked with a woman named Evelyn Waugh when I was in college. It was her married last name but her husband was no relation to Evelyn Waugh the author.)

Anything written by Flannery O’Connor

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien

The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Rome Sweet Home and The Lamb’s Supper by Scott Hahn

Confessions St Augustine

 

What do you enjoy reading?

 

