The Bed Broke

The bed we bought 3 months ago…it broke. Yesterday. I won’t get into details, but thankfully, it was under warranty and the sellers are being awesome about helping us get it replaced/repaired.

Tuesday was my last day of summer. Jeff goes back to work on Monday and next week will be our kids’ last week of vacation.

And the hits just keep coming. We still do not have classroom assignments for any of the kids at their new school. I’m trying to not let that bother me, but bother me it does. I have been advised that Shelby will not be able to get an IEP meeting til next week…and that’s a huge concern. Jeff has his first physical therapy appointment today. He was supposed to be going all summer BUT he did not check his referral paperwork which had our old phone number and address on it…someone (me) is not amused.

I’ve just realized a potential conflict with my work schedule next week and Jeff’s open house schedule. A major conflict.

Faith is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence of things not seen. –Hebrews 11:1

I keep praying for God’s will and to be able to surrender myself to it even if it means my kids won’t have teachers come the first day of school. I keep praying for God’s will that the IEP meeting will even happen. I keep praying and praying and praying. Because it’s all I can do. I’ve made all the necessary inquiries and the responses aren’t the greatest, but at least I got responses.

I’m working four days straight this week and that is exhausting in the midst of everything else that is going on at the moment.

Who would have thought it could all pile on like this…that summer would stop abruptly on a Tuesday and smack me upside the head with the “real life” of the school year. The devil’s fingerprints are all over these details. The details of me worrying and doing my best not to let anxiety get the best of me. The best of me will have faith and hope. The best of me will realize what is hoped for even when I can’t see any of it.

The bed broke. No rest for the weary. I’m  not looking forward to my husband going back to work or my kids going back to school, but it will happen. Faith, faith, little one. Your will, God, not mine be done.

