Clinging to Mother Church

Last weekend, I attended a wedding…maybe you read about it, if not go over and read and enjoy the pics.

In the definition of irony, I planned to blog that wedding on Friday and did.

I’ve been avoiding social media as much as possibly since Friday, except on my blog account. There’s a lot of hysterics over on well..name your platform. On both sides. Oh, and I live in the South so this meme…yeah, it totes applies to my social media feeds:

CFFSKittles

I’ve been happy to find that most bloggers I follow, well, they are searching for God. They are seeking Him and His kingdom FIRST (check the bottom of this post for links).

I have been of the opinion that no matter the outcome of a SCOTUS decision, God wins. God works through everything, all our sinfulness, every good and bad thing. God will work through this. I cannot despair for I KNOW how the story ends.

And I know what the Church teaches. And I agree with Mother Church. To quote Mary of  Let Love Be Sincere:

I just have to hope that maybe this country of ours will at this point in history actually live the words of Christ correctly, the words to “Render unto to Caesar what is Caesar’s and to God what is God’s”- Mark 12

I know God will work through all of man’s decisions no matter what, but I know God’s will may take more time than my or my childrens’ lifetimes. And I’m sorry, but almost none of us looks forward to persecution. None of us looks forward to man trying to impose his will on God’s church.

And so it is, in these moments…that I cling ever tighter to the Church.

Which brings us to this morning. I woke up with allergy issues (half of my face was swollen). I got in the shower anyway. I got dressed anyway. I woke two overtired little boys (thank you summer) anyway. We got in the car and drove to the beach chapel for mass later than we knew we should anyway. We turned around when there was no parking and drove to another parish. We arrived 25 minutes late and in the homily and walked in anyway. The only seating was in the narthex, I stood while the boys shared the only available chair. This parish has no pews or kneelers, I knelt on the hard lineoleum floor anyway during the Consecration. I was happy to see lots of families around. I thanked God for all of them. Especially the family with the seven-year-old, three-year-old and young infant who knelt on the hard floor with me.

Faith isn’t easy. It doesn’t come without testing and without pain. It is as hard as the floor I knelt joyfully on with my bad knees. It is something we never should have been taking for granted and shouldn’t be only mourning for the loss of now. I plan on taking Saint Paul’s advice and running the race to win (1 Corinthians 9:24). I am clinging to the Church that Christ built on Peter (Matthew 16:18). I am following her teaching to love all people. I am clinging to her and to Jesus nailed to that Cross for our sin and risen on the third day to SAVE us all. No matter the pain, no matter the trial, I will cling. Because I believe:

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.– Hebrews 11:1

Sherry Antonetti’s Seven Quick Takes Post.

Leila Miller’s reaction.

Edited on 6/29/2015 10:01 AM to add

Kendra Tierney breaks it down here.

