A Greek Orthodox, Born-Again and Catholic all looked at their Facebook feeds (stop me if you’ve heard this one)

…and saw a friend in need.The same mutual friend. A friend who is not struggling with faith necessarily but circumstance. A friend who needed prayer and encouragement. A friend just in a bad spot at that point in time and needed someone to listen. And they offered her comfort, prayer, encouragement and so much more.

This is what happened to me this week. I put some posts out there about clinging to Jesus and three friends, yes, one Greek Orthodox, one Born-Again and one Catholic, reached out.And together they lifted me and carried me to His feet. They laid me down there and prayed for my healing, my peace of mind.

In today’s Gospel reading (Mark 2:1-12), the friends of the paralytic let nothing stop them from bringing their friend and delivering him to Jesus’ feet. They go so far as to cut a hole in the ceiling and lowering him through it. While what my dear friends did physically was a bit different, spiritually, it was the same act.

We all profess Jesus Christ as our Savior, but besides dogmatic and theological differences, we all prayed together. And their voices united, carried me to Christ and allowed me to get up, take my mat and go because I was healed. I am in awe of their gift of carrying me. Even though I’ve done it for others, it never ceases to amaze me. A friend in the name of Jesus Christ, is a friend in deed. And in prayer.

To quote my bishop via twitter: “Who will we help to bring to Jesus this day?” Who can we make a miracle happen for?

