What I learned on my field trip to the farm…

I was a chaperone for William’s farm field trip to Indigo Farms in Calabash, NC (well, technically literally on the NC/SC border so it’s in both states) today. I went with Joseph’s class last year to a different farm and was excited to get to go with William to this farm.

William’s teacher assigned me a group of three little boys which included William and two of his best friends. For privacy reasons, I will not publish pictures here of the other two children. Which means, sorry y’all only one pic.

IMG_1408

But see, it was so worth it!

We had a great time and I can’t wait to go back and shop at the garden center and more of the produce. But I did learn some important lessons this trip.

1. Little girls are definitely as active as little boys and a million times the drama.

Without getting into details, I was so thankful I had three little boys today.

2. Grandparents who volunteer to chaperone should be expected to keep the two younger children they bring under control and should not think of this as their “free photo shoot” time.

A set of grandparents volunteered to help with their granddaughter and took two other little girls from the class. They also brought their younger two granddaughters who were wild, insane the whole time. To the point that it slowed the group down. I’ve brought younger siblings to many field trips and not only did I keep them up by myself, I did not tolerate horseplay or disobedience. So, my tolerance for people who do that kind of thing is way low. Also slowing the group down, Grandma is a retired professional photographer who kept stopping the walking tour so she could take perfectly posed pics of her three granddaughters. It just wasn’t the time or the place.

3. Arrive early so you get premier parking and they don’t tell you to move.

I actually did this and several of the other parents who arrived later, were made to park further away. Parking in the lot by being early for the win!

4. 27 Kindergartners will go wild when you take them off campus as a group for the first time.

Okay, so I knew this already. Today was a good reminder.

5. Not all hayrides are created equal

We were on the bumpier of the two.

6. Kids may not listen, but adults better.

Four kids ended up with fire ant bites because the adults in their group did not heed the warnings to be on the look out and to keep the kids together as a group and not let them rush the fences. Thankfully it wasn’t in our group it happened!

7. Farms wear kids out.

William was knocked out before I got to the highway and slept another 2 1/2 hours after we got home.

We saw horses, pigs, sheep, goats, chickens, geese, and a hinney. And there was a farm cat wandering around who reminded me a lot of the cats I saw around my grandparent’s home growing up. Good mousers those farm cats. I really enjoyed it much more than our experience last year which wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t this good! Our tour guides were both excellent and very sweet with the kids. And the produce was making my mouth water. William picked out a decorative hand towel with a hand crocheted handle as a souvenir with his “Halloween money” from his great-grandparents. He said he wants to go back and get some Christmas ones.

William has the same teacher and assistant that Joseph did last year but the class is so incredibly different. I’m glad he is the class with our neighbor’s son (who also has a son in Shelby’s class) and that his teacher has the patience of a saint. Otherwise there might not be a second field trip this year (to the aquarium).

