Happy Where God Leads You

I have to say, I was a little bit apprehensive even if I was sure it was where God wanted us when we switched parishes. I’m good like that. Follow God but second-guess Him all the way.

Upon announcing our parish change, a wonderful friend and mom of seven contacted me. She has a son with autism as well so we’ve known her for sometime. She is a huge fan of both Shelby and Shelby’s Godfather. She told me to check out faith formation for Shelby at our new parish. She knows the Director of Faith Formation (DFF) for young children there.

I got her message was we were on the cusp of beach week, so I didn’t get in touch with the DFF right away.

This weekend, I finally located William’s baptism certificate and so decided to sign the boys up for Faith Formation after mass this morning. Shelby and William both had rough nights last night, so Jeff stayed home with them and Joseph and I went to 7:30 AM mass. 

After mass, we made our way to the room where sign-ups where. We were the only ones signing up after that mass, so we got some great one-on-one time with the DFF. I explained our situation with Shelby to her and she had an opportunity for us. And it was…CATECHESIS OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD. Wha-what? The Montessori program? Why yes! As it turns out, before being our DFF, she was a teacher in the public school system for exceptional children AND she was a certified Montessori teacher AND certified for CGS! She said she had worked that program with children of varying abilities and was certain it was at least worth a shot to try for Shelby. And since kindergarten faith formation occurs during mass anyway, she offered it as an option for William as well. And it’s at the vigil mass which is our preferred mass during the school year. I couldn’t believe it. Something designed with children like Shelby in mind!

She told me to think about it and get back to her. I came home and told Jeff. We decided to ask if Jeff could accompany Shelby the first few classes to get her situated and hopefully it will work out. What do we have to lose? 

I am so happy God led us here. Initially I figured it was just to give Shelby and her Godfather more time to get to know each other. But now,I realize God is drawing all of us closer to Him in His word, the sacraments and the community as well. Especially Shelby! 

