Weekend Wrap-Up

Well, we sent the boys to their grandparents’ house this weekend. My parents. Friday evening we met my dad at an exit off I-40 half-way between our houses. After dinner at Wendy’s with my dad, we headed south, he headed north with two little boys.

Shelby was, noticably, uncertain about what to do with no brothers and we heard a report that William stated he missed her several times.

Apparently they had a great time:

 

Joe at batting practice

Joe at batting practice

Will, pitching practice...or aiming

Will, pitching practice…or aiming

My parents and boys in the Durham Bulls' dug out

My parents and boys in the Durham Bulls’ dug out

 

Joe, Will and another team's mascot

Joe, Will and another team’s mascot

Joe, Will and My mom with the Durham Bulls mascot Wool E. Bull

Joe, Will and My mom with the Durham Bulls mascot Wool E. Bull

 

Joe, Will D Bulls

Joe and Will at the Bulls’ Stadium

Joe and Will digging for fossils

Joe and Will digging for fossils

Will and Joe riding dinosaurs

Will and Joe riding dinosaurs

 

Joe and Will at How to Train Your Dragon

Joe and Will at How to Train Your Dragon

 

Friday night, my brother came over to join in the fun. Apparently they stayed up late, with Joseph being up past 1 AM. Saturday morning, hair cuts were on the agenda. As William was reluctant to get a cut, my mom bribed negotiated with him to get a Bowser figure if he agreed to a cut. Joseph wanted his cut, so no worries there. As Joseph also outgrew his shoes at the end of the school year and didn’t tell us until the week after school let out, my parents also wanted to get him new sneakers (we intended to let him wear beach shoes all summer and spring for them at back to school time). After haircuts and breakfast, they went to Target to search for Bowser which Joseph finally got William to admit he hadn’t seen there before, it was just a stab in the dark. Joseph looked at the sneakers there but confessed to my parents he really wanted a pair of Nike’s which they didn’t carry. So, off to Shoe Carnival it was where Joseph scored a new pair of Nike’s that he loves. Then to Toys ‘R Us. Now, there was a Bowser to be found there but William decided he instead wanted a different set of Mario figures. And Joseph found a clearance Angry Bird’s plush they didn’t already have. Loaded down with scored grandparent loot, my parents took them to the Durham Athletic Park, home of the AAA Tampa Bay Rays farm team, the Durham Bulls. My parents are season ticket holders with a group of friends and the DAP is host to this year’s AAA All-Star Game and had festivities all weekend. The boys got to sit in the dug out, meet Wool E. Bull and other AAA mascots, and participate in various activities for kids. My parents had initially wanted to visit the Duke Lemur Center, but decided it might be more than William could handle. As a result, they instead decided to go to the Museum of Life and Science also there in Durham, close by their home. Joseph and William enjoyed the dinosaurs and digging for fossils. They also did get to see lemurs there. Finally, they went to see How to Train Your Dragon 2. Everyone enjoyed it. Apparently my mother and Joseph cried. They also had pizza that  night with my brother Matt and his girlfriend Sarah. This morning they went to mass at my parents’ church. Apparently, William slept through that. I don’t claim they’re angels all the time! We met them at the same exit and had dinner this evening at Smithfield’s.

As for us here at the old homestead, on Saturday morning, after some cleaning and I went grocery shopping, we took Shelby to our area’s adaptive park playground. There is also a “Miracle Field” there for children and adults with special needs. It exists inside a larger park complex. We’d never been before and we had the place to ourselves. We will be returning with the boys for sure.IMG_1194 IMG_1197 IMG_1198 IMG_1205 IMG_1206 IMG_1208 IMG_1209 IMG_1211

I had to work that afternoon/evening but even than was unexpected. I was asked to run to another store to get some product delivered there by mistake. Got paid my time and mileage. This morning we attended mass at what we later decided is our new parish and napped this afternoon before getting the boys. It sounds kind of lazy, but we did do a lot of cleaning/painting/housework that is pretty boring.

Back to work for me tomorrow and school for Shelby! Have a great week!

