So maybe you noticed…

…how I slipped into my post yesterday that we are trying to get our house on the market.

Sigh.

I honestly thought we’d retire here but in the last few years that became less and less a dream much less a desire. We like most of our neighbors (you know there almost always has to be one…). We like the school our kids are attending. We like our parish. I like my job.

But Jeff can’t get a job closer. Most of the ones he’s applied for were internally promised to someone already employed in the district. By law, they have to post the job opening and conduct interviews but it’s essentially a huge waste of tax-payer dollars and everyone’s time. Some of them expected him to teach culinary arts without a kitchen of any kind (fail!).

And while we are happy with the kids’ school now, the middle and high school situation in our district is appalling. Truly terrible. And I knew I could homeschool the boys but Shelby was a whole different matter. I have found some programs but without the related services, it would be extremely difficult.

A job opportunity that Jeff very much wanted came up and this accelerated any desire to move we may have had. He did not get the position, but after the prayer and my huge fight against sentimentality, it became clear, we needed to move. I asked God to direct my heart and all directions pointed to doing whatever we can to get to the place we want to be. Which is about 1 hour and 45 minutes away from where we are now. God gently reminded me that He would never have created a desire in both my and Jeff’s hearts to live in that area if we were not meant to pursue it.

We are still readying our house for the market, interviewing potential realtors (we may end up doing it for sale by owner, who knows), painting and talking to our kids about it. And that last one has a lot of people scratching their heads. Why would we talk to our kids about moving? Isn’t it essentially an adult decision? Well, to answer the second question, yes, it is. However, we value the boys’ opinions. William is not thrilled about the idea of moving and often says “But I like this place?!” but more often he tells me, “I don’t want to leave my bunk beds” or “What will happen to my plushies?” He is not excited by the idea of change and he has very immature ideas (although appropriate for his age) of what moving means. None of our kids has ever moved. They were born here. We’ve talked about making new friends, going to a new school etc. With Shelby, it will all be choreographed down to the last detail.

What I’m most worried about now is that the house won’t sell. A few houses in our neighborhood have had very good luck due to great realtors, mostly, or very motivated sellers. But there are a couple that have languished on the market for over a year. One of my kids’ teachers just bought one on short-sale and it has been tough going for her in trying to get it liveable. It’s a shame to think people live so close to us like that, but it is what it is.

I’m just trying to leave it all in God’s hands and Mary and Joseph’s very capable hands but it is still stressful. Will the right buyer come along? Will the deal stick? Will we be able to find a great house where we want to move? We have to sell this house before we even start to plan.

If you have a prayer or two to offer up for us during this time, we really appreciate it.

One thought on “So maybe you noticed…

  1. Will do! For what it is worth, I kindof know the feeling. James might or might not be offered a job that would require us to move to Milwaukee… in less than 2 months. And we won’t know until July. No stress, right? lol. I told God it is totally His problem. lol. 🙂

Comments are closed.