If you don’t have anything nice to say…

usually you can come sit next to me. But sometimes, just go away.

I gave up blog reading for Lent. I’m not even kidding you. I still glance in to my reader to see if friends who are expecting post any info or if blogs I follow who are irregular posters have posted anything because typically they are my best reading. And I’ve clicked through links on facebook of blogs I follow frequently when they have promising spoilers but I’ve given up the excessive reading and the excessive agonizing over who I missed that day.

And I’m glad I did. Because far more often than not, most bloggers lately have had nothing nice or even informative to say. I love a good rant as much as anyone, but when every other or even every post is a rant, I pass. I have better things to do. Like take a nap or google “tiger vs lion.”

A few blogs I used to love I gave up forever when I began to question the road to sanity that some bloggers were de-railing from. And it usually started with ranting non-stop.

One blog I gave up a long time ago caused me a lot of stress. The indignant, self-righteous tone this particular blogger has was borderline psychotic-episode inducing for me as a reader. I could not imagine what it might be like to live in this person’s skin. First of all, this person was objectively wrong on almost every single count they ranted and raved on. And if someone dared to disagree in a civil manner, this blogger gave a swift thunder-punch to the throat via the internet. I never bothered commenting because these are people you can only pray for. In addition there was a schizoid element of wanting to have everything both ways. Everyone around this blogger both on the internet and in real life was both too conservative and too liberal at the same time. Every once in a while though, I come back for a quick look just to see if maybe, by some miracle, this person has gotten his/her life back together. And every time I’m disappointed so I go back to praying for them. Most recently this blogger decided to personally attack a very well known blogger passive-aggressively (linked to the blog didn’t call it out by name, of course) for this person telling their personal story. Well, our stories make us who we are, like it or not. And this person’s story happens to be quite different than the blogger’s who attacked him/her (for various reasons I’m going to be deliberately vague in this post, mostly because I do not want to draw traffic to the blog I’ve given up). The original blogger’s story is full of regret, woe and confusion. The blogger he/she attacked has a story full of redemption, grace and joy. I would understand the original blogger saying, “hey I don’t get what the fascination is.” but that’s not what he/she is doing. He/She is trying to portray this other blogger as a heretic and interloper. And I can say that because I read the post. He/she is careful in his/her word choice, but the message is clear. “I don’t like this person, I’m going to tear this person down.” And that’s not right. You can not like the person, but why must you tear him/her down? This blogger has stated several times her distaste with her own life and life choices, but that doesn’t give her free-license to slander and blight a person who is telling a very different truth?

That’s why I don’t miss reading blogs. People only seem to want to write lately when they don’t have anything nice to say. And some of them write so much that you begin to wonder, is there ANYTHING good in their lives? Ever? And so I’ve been forced to become super-picky about which blogs I feed myself on voraciously, which blogs I simply nibble at occasionally, which ones I glance at and which ones I toss without another care. This internet is a brave new world still. And I, for one, am going to be much pickier with the path I tread in it.

4 thoughts on “If you don’t have anything nice to say…

  1. Hi Kristen! I have followed your blog since 2011. If you feel like it, try glancing at mine occasionally once Lent is over if you are looking for posts that don’t rant. I try to be encouraging and/or entertaining and am almost never negative. You may even find something that makes you laugh (and if you do, that is what makes blog writing to me worthwhile.)

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

    • Thank you so much! I started following so many blogs, sometimes a few get lost in the shuffle, but I will be a more frequent visitor! I promise! I’m going to clear out my feed-reader come Easter time and eliminate a lot, so I can guarantee I’ll be stopping by more often!

  2. I don’t want to break your Lenten fast, but come Easter, hop on over for a bit of positive support… I’ve nominated you for an internet award.. come on over and join the fun. 🙂

Comments are closed.