Art and a Poem, Day 3, January 2, 2014

Plums William Adolphe Bouguereau

This Is Just To Say

  by William Carlos Williams

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

This Is Just to Say is one of my all-time favorite poems. I love the simplicity. The tone for me fluctuates between a child’s joy at eating the plums and a person who just cruelly ate them for spite but a gentle spite because who could resist the plums. Just the description of sweetness and coldness makes my mouth water. Plums are also one of my favorite fruits. And not many people “get that.” This picture was new to me and also the result of a google search. Originally I wanted just plums but when I saw this, the child’s innocence spoke to me and seemed to fit the language of this poem. Don’t forget to hop on over to Melanie’s to see more art and read more poetry.

One thought on “Art and a Poem, Day 3, January 2, 2014

Comments are closed.