A Saint and A Word

Jen Fulwiler at Conversion Diary has her annual Saint Generator up. Unlike years past, before I clicked I prayed and asked God to assign me a patron in 2014 whose direction would be a model to my life…be careful what you ask for. My 2014 patron is:

(drumroll please)

St Jerome

Feast Day September 30

Patron of

Archeologists; Bible Scholars; Librarians; Libraries; Schoolchildren; Students; Translators

Now those who know me, particularly those who have paid attention in the last 12 months to the direction of my life, this is so the Holy Spirit’s answer to my prayer. In other news I am still reading Amy Welborn’s The Words We Pray, just started Scott and Kimberly Hahn’s Rome Sweet Home and next up is Matthew Kelly’s Rediscovering Catholicism. And I am still actively in Bible Study Fellowship and reading the Bible cover to cover…

The word I chose for 2014 has actually spent the last 12 months screaming at me. And when I say screaming, remember the Holy Spirit with the cast iron skillet raring to knock me one up the head? The word that I have chosen for 2014 is:

Quiet

You know Psalm 46:11…Be still and know that I am God and all of that. Unplug. Step back. Listen more: to my husband, my children, my friends, and mostly to God.

So here’s to 2014. May it be a great one.

3 thoughts on “A Saint and A Word

  1. Pingback: Sunday Snippets–A Catholic Carnival | St Monica's Bridge

Comments are closed.