Just Gotta Share

1. From Anthony at Evangelical to Catholic this story of what made him leave the Baptist Seminary…and then decide to become Catholic. 

 

After two farewell cakes and many kind gifts and hugs a year later, I pulled up to Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in early January 2012 and began a three week, day-long course on Biblical Hermeneutics. I loved it. The past fall I had struggled for hours and hours over reconciling church history with Protestantism, likely spurred by my dad’s reversion to the Catholic Church and my deeper studies of the Bible, and in this classroom I found community, certainty, relief. My roommate was right–I knew the temptation to cross the Tiber would ease once I was surrounded by Truth at seminary.

 

So read on to find out why that didn’t happen.

2. Priest’s Wife ponders the future of Eastern Rite parishes in the US and she asks for suggestions here.

Some of my readers already know that my Byzantine-rite priest husband is permitted to celebrate in the Roman-rite in our local Roman-rite archdiocese. The last daily Mass that he celebrated in the Roman rite that I attended was on Monday. There were more lay people there on Monday than at our Sunday Divine Liturgy.
The Eastern Catholic Churches in the United States will always be minuscule compared the Roman-rite, but I would love to get to the point where our church was full enough that I wasn’t always worried that no one would show up.
3. From the “things we take for granted” desk comes this Jen Ambrose piece about the difference in appreciating water in the US and in China.
This summer, one thing I realized that in our life in China we miss water, and how water can be such a casual part of our American lives.
5. From Jennifer Fulwiler at Conversion Diary on how Breaking Bad helped her get closer to God.
So let me throw in this caveat right now: Breaking Bad is about meth dealers. And it, umm, contains exactly the kind of content you would expect from a show about meth dealers. This prompted me to ask myself, “Why do I watch this show, then?”, and I quickly came up with an answer: because my life is insane and by the end of the day I am so desperate to relax and turn my brain off that I have no standards because I JUST DON’T CARE ANYMORE. Then I thought about it some more, and came up with a longer answer. It turns out that I do, in fact, have standards for any art that I consume, whether it’s a TV show, a book, a movie, a blog, or anything else.
Find out what those standards are and how Breaking Bad fits them.
…the fact that we get to celebrate one more year of loving you is such a miracle I have tears in my eyes as I type this…
