St Anne

Today we begin the novena to St Anne. If you need reminders (don’t we all) please check out Pray More Novenas and get on their mailing list.

St Anne is the mother of the Blessed Virgin Mary, a child conceived immaculately and in advanced age after a lifetime of barrenness.

I have prayed this novena for about the last five years every year. I usually have a couple of intentions. And one of them consistently for the last three years is no longer on that list. I am not praying for a fourth child. No, I’m not pregnant either. I’ve decided this intention, which I have prayed for in every single novena I have prayed in the last three years, is not God’s will. Apparently storming heaven and begging the saints to join me in prayer has yielded results, just not the one I wanted.

This year I pray asking St Anne for one intention and one only, acceptance of God’s will. This morning in the Divine Office the morning reading was this:

Naked I came forth from my mother’s womb,
and naked I shall go back again.
The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away;
blessed be the name of the Lord!
We accept good things from God;
and should we not accept evil?

Job 1:21, 2:10b

And the Responsory was:

Incline my heart according to your will, O God.

So, Saint Anne, please, I ask you to pray for me to accept the will of God. To put aside my own personal wants and embrace the fullness of God’s will.

