Light in Darkness

Joining Maria for her weekly Meme Light in Darkness

 

This interview and and the book that inspired it (which is on my reading wish list). I’ve been a huge fan of Rod Dreher’s common sense conservatism and although he left the Church of Rome for the Church of the East, I still greatly value his religious insights as well. Rod Dreher’s The Little Way of Ruthie Leming tells the story of the hometown he left behind and the sister who stayed there and her eventual battle with cancer and death and Rod’s eventual move back and realizing the value of the life he left behind.

Ruthie’s life, Rod has mentioned several times on his blog, even after ending its earthly run, has changed others for the better. And Ruthie is indeed a light in our world, shining now through her brother, her hometown, and her story.

The interview/feature ends with this quote from Ruthie’s friend Ronnie Morgan, “…When I’m gone? The only thing that’s going to show up to say I was here is the people I left behind.” Followed by reporter Debbie Elliot’s addition, “… And the way they carry on in your absence. In the book, Dreher quotes Leming’s husband Mike telling a friend, ‘we’re leaning, but we’re leaning on each other.'”

May God give you someone to lean on today and always, may God teach us all the value of community either that we are born into or create ourselves.

3 thoughts on “Light in Darkness

  1. Thank you for sharing this! I’ll have to add his book to my list of those to read. I love how her husband put it about leaning on each other. So beautiful!

  2. I only have two short comments to add to the discussion. The first grows out of a conversation I had with a bookshop owner several weeks ago. On learning of my Kentucky roots, he observed, “I’ve always felt the South has produced the greatest American storytellers because it produces the greatest listeners in the country.” Dreher’s writing in Little Way offers readers the chance to be one of these great listeners. Even after five years as a regular reader of Dreher’s blog, I’ve never heard his voice sound so uniquely and clearly. The effect, most of the time, is the feeling that you’re sitting across a kitchen table, or on some humid front porch, listening to him tell you this story. So maybe the trick of Southern storytelling isn’t just that the author listens, but trusts the reader to listen with just as much focus and delight.

Comments are closed.