Why I Am Catholic

Every day is Easter. Every single day, Christ is Risen. Christ, crucified for our sins, is risen and seated at the right hand of the Father. And every single day, I have the ability to do what Christ commands:

Then he took the bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which will be given for you; do this in memory of me.”And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which will be shed for you. Luke 22:19-20

Every day, I can eat the body of Christ and consume His blood in the celebration of His death and resurrection. Notice Christ does not say a “this is a symbol of my body.” No, it is HIS BODY consumed when I go before my priest and answer to “The Body of Christ” with “Amen.” And how could it NOT be? The miracle of transubstantiation is the belief that, as Christ said himself:

 “…for God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26

I know that Christ is the Son of God and that He died for my sins and rose on the third Day and by his Cross and Resurrection has saved us from sin, and I am humbled to know that every.single.day. is the celebration of the Resurrection and Eternal life.

 

