Five Favorites

five-favorites-moxie-wife-1

1. If you have for any reason missed this moment, here it is again.

You can speak all you want, but when you do something like this while the whole world is watching it defies words of description and it is more beautiful and eloquent than any message you could speak or write.

2. And then there is this

A truly sweet and beautiful gesture and one I know was beautifully executed. I know these men pray for each other often.

3. This cannot be a solely Papal related post this week 🙂 so here is one of my favorite new shows I have been watching:

mindy project

 

And I’m in good company, Julie at Happy Catholic seems to be a fan too. Very well written and Mindy Kaling is delightful in this role. She played the annoying Kelly Kapoor so well, it’s great to see she can play a totally relatable and likable character.

4. Speaking of good tv…why didn’t someone tie me down and force me to order Showtime during the first season of Homeland. Wow.

 

5. German Chocolate Cake. Homemade. I’m not even kidding you. My camera took awful pics of the one I was given so here’s one I found that was similar looking on the interwebs. She swears she used this recipe for the cake and this one for the icing and then mixed in a can of the Betty Crocker Coconut Pecan frosting with it.

 

9 thoughts on “Five Favorites

  1. I’ve been craving chocolate cake. I can’t even click the links you offered, too dangerous!!! 😉
    Also, I’ve never seen either of the shows you mention! I’ll have to check those out.
    Our new Holy Father is such a beautiful soul. I’m so impressed with the Holy Spirit.

    • My sentiments exactly Andrea on the Holy Spirit. He has given us so much of what we need in Pope Francis I believe. And the shows are very different from one another. The Mindy Project is, to me, the perfect romantic comedy. She is pretty, smart, has a good job and just can’t find the right guy to save her life and has some interesting adventures along the way. It’s cute because in the first episode she talks about being in junior high and watching all the 90’s Meg Ryan and Sandra Bullock romantic comedies and wishing her life was just like that! Homeland is very intense. We missed the first two seasons and so we are watching the first one on DVD now but can’t watch more than two episodes at a time. The second season you can get on-demand, not sure about Netflix or Hulu plus, it won’t be on DVD til August I read and the new season will start in September. Very action packed and psychological. And I love both Claire Danes and Mandy Patinkin. I’m pretty sure Mandy’s had two roles he was born for in his life, Inigo Montoya in The Princess Bride and Saul in Homeland :).

  2. That phone call! I had no idea; what an amazing gesture! During the conclave I constantly found myself wondering what all these men talked about over breakfast and coffee =) And Mindy…I am obsessed with her, but I have to say, I found Kelly on the office a lot funnier than her character on her new show. Her book is hilarious, if you haven’t read it! So glad I found your blog through this linkup, Kristen!

    • Stephanie you are too kind. I think Kelly was funnier, I think Mindy was trying to go for more sympathy with this new show. Last night’s episode totally made me cry and the way she and Ike Barinholtz were talking about it on twitter it sounds like this cast has so much fun together. Do you follow her on twitter and Instagram?

    • It was delicious. 🙂 Hopefully we will make it one of these days when our whole house isn’t in the throes of rotovirus 😦

  3. I had not heard of the phone call either – what a beautiful Holy Father we have! Thanks for sharing the video too….and the cake. Papal & chocolate in one post – can’t go wrong there!

Comments are closed.