Happy Birthday to Jeff…but hold the cards

This just in…after a couple of years, give or take, of threatening it, the US Postal Service will end Saturday deliveries.  And it all starts, or ends, rather,  on August 1st. Which just so happens to be Jeff’s birthday. (Hence my title of this post…)

I am rather surprised my rural area even gets five week days anymore with the abysmal state of the Postal Service’s finances. The article does note that packages can still be delivered on Saturdays. Which makes sense since most are not sent via USPS and the ones that are won’t require a lot of extra work to deliver.

I really want to feel nostalgic, but I just don’t. Going away on a weekend is difficult enough without worrying about something important sitting there all weekend and/or subject to thieves.

