On a Day Such as This

Sunday was a beautiful way to begin this week. I got up early to say Morning Prayer, the Rosary, the Rosary of Seven Sorrows and a Morning Offering which I do along with Amy Welborn’s A Catholic Woman’s Book of Days. I got the kids up and fed and dressed. I went to Mass  where Father offered as his homily the story of his recent trip to our sister parish in Honduras and the new medical clinic we helped build there. The weather was crisp but cheerful.

My parish is located in downtown Wilmington, NC just a few blocks from the riverfront. The road it is located on is made of old bricks. Our church is made entirely of brick in a Spanish style and is actually a shrine to the Blessed Mother. The stained glass is enchanting and everywhere. And we have a pulpit. A pulpit, for real. Once a visiting priest thanked us for fulfilling a life-long dream of his to deliver the Gospel and his homily from a pulpit. It is hard not to feel God’s presence there. One of our former pastors was hosting some reporters who came to write about the parish and when he brought them into the church, during the day, he hesitated a minute before turning the lights on as the sunlight streamed through the stained glass. He said said the gasps of awe were totally worth it.

After mass, I headed home for lunch and some laundry before I went into work. My kids were mostly behaving. I say mostly because when Daddy is in charge, he is a little more lax with those requirements. 🙂

After a busy day at work (I got to stay my whole shift! yeah!), I came home to the end of the Falcons/49ers game. And also dinner. Dinner was a big deal this Sunday because we were trying a new recipe I had been dying to make. We are huge devotees of America’s Test Kitchen/Cook’s Illustrated/Cook’s Country. And Jeff had purchased a publication of their’s with some of their best recipes including one for tacos. I don’t think I can ever go back to taco kits again after this. It was amazing. And we fried our own tortillas. Yum.

I almost feel guilty as to how this week has been so beautiful for us, even with the rough “funk” spots of last week. Part of my guilt stems from the fact that during this week, most years. I feel depressed. Depressed we have to continue fighting this fight to preserve life. However, I am feeling God’s will surge in all things of late, I am taking the words of Jeremiah to heart.

For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, says the LORD, plans for your welfare, not for woe! plans to give you a future full of hope.When you call me, when you go to pray to me, I will listen to you.When you look for me, you will find me. Yes, when you seek me with all your heart,you will find me with you, says the LORD…

Jeremiah 29:11-14

