STRESS

We need some prayers here.

1) Today is an IEP meeting for Shelby. Typically, we’ve been blessed to have just one each year to set goals. Right now, we are having her re-evaluated to find out her more precise diagnosis on the autism spectrum. Today’s IEP is to request the new evaluation. We do not anticipate any push-back from the school, but it is imperative that this happen. NOW. In 2013 the DSM-V will have a revised definition of autism that will eliminate the diagnoses of PDD-NOS and Aspergers syndrome. Shelby’s current diagnosis is PDD-NOS, a higher functioning form of autism that most very young children are initially diagnosed with because with early intervention, much can be done. It is crucial we have the correct diagnosis because once the changes go into place…we need to ensure Shelby continues to get her services.

2) Jury Duty.  On Friday I got a summons to jury duty. It wouldn’t be a huge deal except, of course, they summoned me on the only day in February that Shelby has a teacher workday. Which means I would have to find all day child care for all three children. My in-laws are in Hawaii until this end of this week and a whole day with Shelby + the boys is more than they can really handle. Let’s not even think if I were to be placed on a jury. My husband works over an hour out of town still and has a mandatory training following his school day that day. I sent in as my compelling reason not to serve that I have a child with low-functioning autism who is non-verbal and not potty-trained and I have no one to watch her. Please pray that this falls on the desk of an empathetic judge.

That’s about it for now. Thank you in advance.

2 thoughts on “STRESS

  1. Wow! That is stressful! Praying for a successful IEP meeting. As for the jury duty, you will at least receive an extension, which in and of itself, may solve your current dilemma. Blessings!

    • Thank you! I just can’t believe it was scheduled the only day of the entire month that she is out of school! I told my best friend on Friday when I opened up the summons, I know God doesn’t give us more than we can handle, but He seems to be trusting me with a whole lot right now 🙂

Comments are closed.