Yarn Along

It’s been awhile since I participated in Yarn Along…sadly, I do not knit, still,  but I am reading now more than ever.

 

Going back to my college days, I am re-reading the texts from my Literature of the Vikings class. In that class we read The Saga of King Hrolf Kraki, King Harald’s Saga, Seven Viking Romances and the Finnish National Epic Poem The Kalevala. I’ve finished Hrolf and am reading Harald currently.  I love the parallels to other literature like Beowulf and reading the histories of these nations. The early Scandinavian cultures are just as fascinating and rich as the ancient Greeks and Romans but not as well known. I’m trying to feel well-rounded these days in my reading and picking these up is definitely helping with that.

 

What are you reading, knitting or crocheting right now? Join Ginny at Small Things to share.

One thought on “Yarn Along

  1. Interesting books! I love the parallels too 🙂 I totally agree the early mythologies are just as fascinating.

Comments are closed.