A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

Joining Judy to share the attitude of gratitude this week!

1) Thankful for the Morning Offering. It always starts my day off right.

2) For an inventive Mom. When we went to see her and my dad in their hotel Sunday, the indoor pool was being worked on so she filled up the bathtub in her room and let my boys swim in it!

3) For the wonderful Italian dinner that my parents treated us to on Sunday evening. Yummy!

4) For little boys who laugh at my silly jokes.

5) For little girls who think it’s fun to try on Mama and Daddy’s clothes.

5 thoughts on “A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

  1. Gotta love those inventive moms! Every once in a while, I get some stroke of genius that amazes the munchkins. Isn’t it cute seeing little ones in big clothes? The Princess often tries to dress The Saint in some of her stuff.

  2. What morning offering prayer do you use? I learned one in grade school. Is there just one Catholic morning offering prayer or do we have more?

    • There are several variations on what is essentially the same prayer. The wording might be slightly different but the prayer is essentially the same. The one I use is this one: O Jesus,
      through the Immaculate Heart of Mary,
      I offer You my prayers, works,
      joys and sufferings
      of this day for all the intentions
      of Your Sacred Heart,
      in union with the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass
      throughout the world,
      in reparation for my sins,
      for the intentions of all my relatives and friends,
      and in particular
      for the intentions of the Holy Father.
      Amen.

      Which you can also see here: http://www.ewtn.com/devotionals/prayers/morning2.htm

      After I say the words “for the intentions of the Holy Father” I add “For the month of ________ (in this case January) and specifically list the intentions the Holy Father has set aside for the particular month. In January 2012 those intentions happen to be for Victims of Natural Disasters and Dedication to Peace. I get a pamphlet from the Poor Clares in Spokane around Christmas time each year that includes the Pope’s intentions for each month of the New Year and also includes two versions of the Morning Offering. The pamphlet is from the Apostleship of Prayer and their website is http://www.apostleshipofprayer.org in case anyone is interested in requesting a pamphlet. Thanks for a great question!

Comments are closed.