Baptismal Vows

I am contemplating a series of posts on the traditional Baptismal Vows that we, as Catholics, have accepted for us by our parents and Godparents at baptism and then renew on various occasions. Here’s the problem. I’m not an Apologist. I’m not a Theologian. I’m not a Linguist. I am not a very logical thinker in general. I am certainly not Jen Fulwiler (although it would help in this instance!). So, what to do with this series? Long studies of each of the vows and an explanation? My personal feelings? Or a series of guest posts (and who would want to write them???) For now, I will list the vows here and pray and contemplate…I have a feeling we will end up with a combination of the above options, so if you OR SOMEONE YOU KNOW, would like to take one of the vows and write a post PLEASE contact me kandjherrett (at) gmail (dot) com. Put “Baptismal Vows Guest Post” in the subject line and tell me which one you would like to take on.  These are the vows in their entirety (responses included):

V. Do you reject Satan?
R. I do.
V. And all his works?
R. I do.
V. And all his empty promises?
R. I do.
V. Do you believe in God, the Father Almighty, creator of heaven and earth?
R. I do.

V. Do you believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was born of the Virgin Mary was crucified, died, and was buried, rose from the dead, and is now seated at the right hand of the Father?
R. I do.

Do you believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting?
R. I do.


