NaBloPoMo Prompt # 8: November 8, 2011

Has anything traumatic ever happened to you? Describe the scenes surrounding a particular event 

Well, define traumatic.

Yes.

****

I requested to sit down. I was at work. Instead of my normal job of talking to customers and resolving their issues, I was helping to train new employees. I began feeling waves of illness. I didn’t know what was going on. I was fine that morning. I had been fine the previous day when I was at my brother-in-law’s home for  a pre-Thanksgiving dinner that my in-laws had come down from Maryland to attend. All I knew was that I had a four-month-old at daycare and I didn’t think I was going to make it a full day at work.

I made my way back to my desk and sat down. I didn’t feel better. Across from me, a co-worker stood up and looked over the partition and made the profound statement, “You look like sh!t.” I responded in kind, “I feel like sh!t.” She wasn’t trying to be ugly, it was the truth.  I felt beads of sweat pooling on my browline. I was hot. I was cold. I spoke to a supervisor and went home.

***

I had barely made it home from getting my daughter. I had to stop twice to throw up. I felt worse each time. And now I was suffering diarrhea. Could I still breastfeed my daughter? I called the pediatrician who confirmed my worst fear from my illness, it sounded suspiciously like food-poisoning. Hydrate myself as much as possible but don’t be a hero. Go to the ER if I had to. And it was okay to breastfeed Shelby but if I was dehydrating, give her formula. It wouldn’t kill her. The nurse gave me permission to follow the mother’s code: put your own gas mask on first.

***

I left a message on Jeff’s voice mail. Ginger ale and (for when I felt better) saltines. I barely ended the call when I saw Jeff’s car pull up in the driveway. It was confirmed. Food poisoning. Three days before Thanksgiving. A meal I (shamefully) look forward to all year. And we have a four-month-old baby. How were we going to take care of her?

(I admit, this is not my best writing, but maybe an outline to something future?)

