NaBloPoMo Prompt 2 for November 2, 2011

If you knew that whatever you ate next would be your last meal, what would you want it to be?

I always thought of this as interesting, especially after a King of the Hill episode in which Dale, Bill and Kahn found out several death row inmates final meals and then collected all the food together for a feast, only to not be able to eat it, lest it be a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Then a couple of years ago when I was working the night shift in a hotel I found out a man had died that morning of a heart attack when the stents he had in place failed in a room upstairs. The breakfast hostess informed me that she had seen the man and his wife eat breakfast that morning, of course,  none of them knowing it would be his last meal and the couple’s last meal together.

Carmen over at Mom to the Screaming Masses chose one of my favorite meals: Thanksgiving Dinner. So I decided I would use one of my other favorites: a good old fashioned Southern Country Dinner.

On the menu:

Fried Chicken

Eastern NC Pulled Pork barbecue (and that distinction is VERY important)

Brunswick Stew

Ham Biscuits with honey (and red-eye gravy on the side)

Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread

Cukes and Maters

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Sweet Tea

Okay, I’m sick as a dog and this food is sounding good…I better stop 🙂

