Small Successes

target=”_blank”>FaithButton

Every week Sherry over at Chocolate For Your Brain hosts Small Successes which is a chance for us all to celebrate the successes large and small we have had over the last week. Here are some of mine:

1) I managed to get Shelby to ECU by myself (having never been there before), got her through her evaluation and she will be receiving a Dynavox device to assist with her speech.

2) I also managed to get all three kids up 40 to Goldsboro to my mother-in-law’s house in a very dangerous rain storm the day before. It was terrifying but we prayed for our patron saints’ and guardian angels’ protection and they did not let us down!

3) I listened to my body last week and went to bed at 8:30 on Thursday night after being on the road most of that day with my kids. The house was a wreck and I wasn’t unpacked from our overnight trip and I REALLY wanted to see my shows, but I curled up and went to bed. And I was a happier, better person the next morning!

4) I did not freak out Tuesday morning when my boys both suddenly were covered in poop…I just put them in the shower and hosed them down. I am sure we will not have a repeat anytime in the near future of the shenanigans that led to to that sorry state of affairs.

5) I started eating my healthier steel cut oats for breakfast. I like them…little bit of a texture issue, but nothing I can’t persevere and get through.

This week I’ll: continue to work out (100 workout, let’s do this!) and actively seek out some new healthy choices.

5 thoughts on “Small Successes

  1. Sounds like a great week! My “Mom Therapy” friend & I were just talking about steel cut oats the other day. I’ve never tried them, but she did mention the texture thing too. I’ll have to try them sometime.

    #4…Aaahhh, the wonders & “FUN” of motherhood! Great job not freaking out! And congrats on getting to bed early. Sometimes, you’ve just got to let everything go & take care of yourself! Have a great day!

  2. Way to go getting to bed early and not freaking out! And eatting healthier, that’s a vague goal for me too. Awesome week πŸ™‚

  3. Kristen…I came to your blog from Karen’s and finally made the connection that you and I have posted a lot of Karen’s pictures… πŸ™‚ Just thought I would say, “Hi” and that I admire how you maintain your blog..our family blog is updated in large chunks…with a lot of post dating. We have three young Boys and our middle son was recently diagnosed with Autism and are in the beginning stages of trying to sort through everything and process and make a plan of action…Anyways..I Love reading your posts!

  4. I have to say, you had an awesome week. I’m sorry it took me until today to get over here, but your blog is always worth it. I loved the story about the baby who wasn’t doing for himself, having one daughter who opted not to speak for herself, it’s something to be wary of in big families. The sleep was a major victory! Proud of you!

Comments are closed.