Movie Mondays

This Monday’s movie is Madeline, the 1998 version starring Frances McDormand as Miss Clavel and Nigel Hawthorne as Lord Covington (aka Lord Coucouface). It begins as Ludwig Bemelmans’ classic books do:  “In an old house in Paris that was covered in vines, lived twelve little girls in two straight lines …” and tells the story of Madeline, a ward of the church, living in the boarding school run by Miss Clavel and owned my Lord and Lady Covington. Many of the stories from the books are told in the movie, for example, Madeline getting her appendix removed. Next door to the house a young boy, Pepito son of the Spanish Ambassador, moves in and a prank war ensues. There are many hijinks that occur and in the end Pepito and Madeline survive a kidnapping plot and become good friends. For anyone who has never seen the movie, I don’t want to give too much away. I will say there is no violence or profanity although I think the kidnapping scene may be a bit scary for some kids. Some parents may want to issue warnings about some of the pranks as well and the disrespect Madeline show toward Lord Covington is a little over the top sometimes, but she is always corrected by Miss Clavel and I stress that with my children. Frances McDormand is excellent as Miss Clavel and Hatty Jones is an adorable Madeline. Appréciez !

One thought on “Movie Mondays

  1. I love this movie! I picked it up at a garage sale and then previewed it before showing my children. I just loved it and my daughter loves it too. The older boys like it too but they won’t admit to it in public. 😉

Comments are closed.