What’s Your Favorite (Healthy) Fast Food?

This week one of my friends Mary lamented about the poor healthy choices found at most drive thrus. I have to agree, it can be very frustrating. But there are some “fast foods” out there that are healthy (although  not all may be drive-thru ready!).

My favorite is Subway. I really love their food, particularly loading up on veggies on a sub. If your goal is general health this is an excellent choice as you get to choose from a majority of healthy selections. I skip out on the cookies and chips unless it’s going to be a special occasion.  I also love that it is friendly to pregnant women by offering to toast the meat and there are some low calorie option available (skip cheese and condiments for starters). Subway is also a sponsor of one of my new favorite shows The Biggest Loser and I was thrilled to find out that a six-inch Sweet Onion Chicken Teriyaki sub with mostly veggies on it is 385 calories and I find them very filling! (By the way, I do the cheese on my subs, I just love cheese and don’t eat a lot of it, so I indulge a little here). So they aren’t a terrible choice for weight loss either.

Another great, and Christian, company is Chick-fil-A. They have a great selection of salads and offer grilled chicken and fruit cups. Not open on Sundays, but also have very family friendly activities and restaurants.

Wendy’s has a variety of salads that you can purchase full size or half size. Many of the half-size salads are quite reasonable calorie wise. There are also wraps that are healthy there as well.

McDonald’s does actually pretty well with their salads (watch the dressing though) and also I love that they offer oatmeal now and you can choose if you want the maple syrup or not! And even a regular hamburger or cheeseburger isn’t terrible on calories (as long as that’s not the only thing you eat at every meal).

They aren’t exactly fast food, but Applebees offers various WeightWatcher’s items on their menu and has an under 550 calorie entree menu. I’ve ordered off of it and didn’t eat the potatoes which meant lower carbs and calories. And Applebees offers their take-out service which makes it a bit easier on the go.

So, what are some of your favorite healthy fast foods?

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Favorite (Healthy) Fast Food?

  1. We are big Chick Fil A fans. We’d do Subway more often if I could get my kids to eat sandwiches. Another favorite is Chipotle. They support family farmers and whenever possible use meat from animals raised without antibiotics or added hormones. They also use organic and local produce when practical and their dairy is from cows raised without synthetic hormones. They don’t even keep freezers so everything is fresh. We haven’t quite figured out much the kids will eat there yet, but my husband and I love it. (We will actually order Chipotle for us online, pick up Chick FilA for the kids and then pick up our Chipotle order. lol)

  2. We don’t have a Chipotle here, but it’s a concept I can defintely support. I will have to try next time we go by Raleigh or another area where I know there is one. My kids don’t eat sandwiches either. Jeff usually gets us subs and gets the kids McDonalds (the four piece nuggets aren’t bad calorie wise). I wish we had a Chick-fil-A closer too. It’s about a 25 minute drive :(. But we stop in when we can! Love to support a Christian organization and one that is super family friendly!

  3. I like Chipotle, but it’s kind of pricey. I lean more towards Subway. I usually order the Black Forest Ham on wheat. Since I try to watch my saturated fat intake, I order it without cheese and with almost all the veggies. That’s just me, I don’t know that many fast food locations that are super healthy. Plus I’m always near a Subway: it’s healthy and convenient.

Comments are closed.