Yarn Along

Although Ginny may or may not be putting up a new post today because she may or may not be welcoming baby # 6, I couldn’t miss this week.

Walking Across Egypt was Clyde Edgerton’s second book. It is the story of a 78-year-old widow in ficitonal Listre, NC who finds herself first with a stray dog and then a stray boy showing up. Mattie Riggsbee, the story’s protagonist, is a woman who lives in the presence of God. So, when the stray boy turns out to be an escapee from the youth correctional facility and the deacons and elders at Listre Baptist Church feel that her involvement with him disqualifies her from her leadership positions, Mattie realizes God speaking in her life. In her Sunday School class they are studying Jeremiah 31 and the verse that jumps at her is Jeremiah 31: 34 No longer will they have need to teach their friends and kinsmen how to know the LORD. All, from least to greatest, shall know me, says the LORD, for I will forgive their evildoing and remember their sin no more.  Mattie then remembers that Jesus gave the call to serve the least of his brethren in the 25th chapter of Gospel of Matthew: And the king will say to them in reply, ‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’ Mt 25:40. Mattie, once the person in charge of collections for international missions, realizes that Jesus’ commandments were called for at home too. Mattie, who bemoans that her children remain unmarried and childless, realizes that her brothers and sisters in Christ need her as much as her children. Mattie chooses to live out her faith as opposed to the many at her church who choose to talk about it figuratively. My favorite part of this book aside from Edgerton’s clever dissection of theology is the food. Mattie’s meals made my mouth water! And I’ve decided that while Jeff is home this summer, we’re going to have some real meals. Please hop on over to Ginny’s even if Yarn Along isn’t happening this week to check for baby updates!

4 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. A fellow foodie?! I love books that talk about food. Your book sounds interesting and something I would enjoy reading.

  2. the book sounds really interesting! I’ll try to find it in our library or bookshop next time I go to the city 🙂
    have a nice summer with some real meals 🙂

  3. I remember reading that book in high school and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is one of those books you wish they would make a sequel to.

  4. Pingback: Yum! | St Monica's Bridge

Comments are closed.