Thirty Day Picture Challenge Day 23/ Yarn Along

Day 23–A picture of your favorite book

As it so happens, Yarn Along and this particular picture challenge coincided. I’m all for it. So, here are a few of my favorites. I like A LOT of books but only some rank as favorites, and I realize I’m missing my copies of a couple too. I also realized that I have very “canonical” tastes, meaning within the canon that we call great American literature…for the most part. The Catcher in the Rye has been a favorite since I read it at sixteen. While I totally don’t buy into Holden Caulfield’s methodology these days, the idea that the world is full of phony people…still 110% relevant. The Pearl by John Steinbeck has some of the most precise imagery I have ever read. A Farewell to Arms tells a completely tragic story so beautifully I remember at the age of fifteen reading it and gasping for breath between sobs way too young to fully grasp the loss. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien is short story at it’s finest. O’Brien recreates and fictionalizes his experiences in Vietnam in a way I’ve never seen before. To define character and tell stories as the title story does by the thinks these GIs carry was innovative and remains so. No wonder it is pretty much required reading for every college fiction writing class. The Great Gatsby. Okay, I have a confession, I wish I was Daisy Buchanan but not married to Tom. And the roaring 20s sound pretty good to me…although, not so much the Great Depression that followed. I am heartbroken that the home that was the inspiration for Daisy’s house and the dock is being torn down. Finally, Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach made me feel like I was soaring with him. I also find it fascinating to write a novella that is believable from the perspective of a non-human. One of my professor’s in college, Clyde Edgerton wrote a novel that I haven’t had a chance to read yet called The Floatplane Notebooks where there is a chapter written by a wisteria vine…I see a future Yarn Along. Not pictured because I can’t find them: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee and Who Will Run the Frog Hospital by Lorrie Moore. Most people have read Mockingbird so I won’t go on about why it is so great. As for Frog Hospital, it is grossly underappreciated and I am sure under-read…I’ll stop my review there to persuade some more people to read. Check out more awesome reads and some knitting too over at small things for Yarn Along.

3 thoughts on “Thirty Day Picture Challenge Day 23/ Yarn Along

  1. I’ve loved reading all of those books!! The only ones I haven’t are Frog Hospital, floatplane, and the Things they carried on :). Thanks for sharing!!

Comments are closed.