Thirty Day Picture Challenge Day 17

Day 17 – A picture of something that has made a huge impact on your life recently.

The Tsunami in Japan and the Indonesian/Thailand Tsunami back in 2004 both have had a huge impact on me. I remember distinctly the devastion happening in the middle of Christmas, but the tsumani last week gave me much more of a start. At first I thought it is because I am a mother now. Then because I often talk of wanting to visit Japan. But in the aftermath of the disaster, the new risks posed by nuclear exposure has clarified my fears. I live in a hurricane prone area where a tsunami very likely could happen. In fact, it did in a short-lived tv series called Surface that filmed and took place locally. And there is a nuclear power plant just down the road. And being that I am alone with the kids all week, well, it makes my head spin sometimes when I think of potential emergencies occurring. So I try not to. And I offer up my worries for those living the very real traged

