Wedding Dress Love

Betty Beguiles wants us to talk about our wedding dresses and while I’m late to the party, I will join in. Like a lot of brides, I knew what I did NOT want. I did not want a cathedral length train, strapless, or spaghetti straps. When I was a freshman in college, shortly before I met my husband, a suitemate of mine was getting married and we saw all kinds of magazines come through the apartment. Knowing that my suitemate was going to wear her mother’s wedding gown, I asked if she minded if I saved some pictures of gowns. I didn’t have a guy, but what could it hurt? In the first magazine I looked at, I found my gown. It was simple, no bling at all and an Alfred Angelo. Which meant there was no way it would be less than $5000. But again, at the time, no boyfriend/fiancé, so no worries.

Fast forward four years. I was going with my mother (for various and complicated reasons I had no bridal attendants except for flower girls and two junior bridesmaids in my wedding party…so no honor attendant) and her best friend during a sale to David’s Bridal. I had browsed their website ahead and was sad to find that they did not carry Alfred Angelo gowns at all (out of price range or not, I at least wanted to try on the dress of my dreams) and nothing similar to the style I had seen. But I found several pretty gowns to try on and had my pictures printed out. While I was waiting for my consultant, my mother and her best friend had been looking around the salon and found an almost identical dress to the Alfred Angelo I loved. And not only was it in price range…it was on sale. The consultant got that dress for me and it was the first one I tried on. I knew it was my dress immediately but wanted to make sure so I tried on many more dresses in various styles. In the end, I got the first dress. The only hitch was that I did not walk in it during alterations so it was too long on my wedding day and I spent the entire time walking down the aisle stepping on it. I also had to be sewn into it by my great-aunt as we were not told we should invest in a button hook to button the roughly 25 buttons that actually had to be buttoned.

It was an A-line in white with a jewel cut neckline. It was sleeveless with tulle covering from the top of the dress over my shoulders. There was tasteful beading only on the top of the dress with a chapel length train. I wanted to wear my hair up so my mother was kind enough to also spring for a tiara and a tastefully beaded veil. I wish I had a full length picture to share with you but sadly, my scanner isn’t working so this will have to do.

5 thoughts on “Wedding Dress Love

    • White calla lilies with greenery. They are very hypoallergenic and my grandmother is highly allergic to flowers and I wanted her to be able to wear a corsage. Plus I love calla lilies so the fact I cuold get them in different colors was a plus. (The corsages and my junior bridesmaid bouquets were yellow callas.)

  1. Pingback: Wedding Dress Love | St Monica's Bridge | Wedding|wedding dress|party dress|white wedding dresses|red dress|night dress -Simon Wedding

  2. Pingback: Wedding Dress Round-Up

Comments are closed.